Databases

Our library provides you with access to thousands of magazines, journals, and newspapers -- that's literally millions of articles.

Browse online resources by topic or use the "all-in-one" search on the right for additional assistance.

MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS

Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines

Search for and read articles online from magazines like Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, and archived articles from NPR Special Coverage.

Gale OneFile: News

You can search newspaper articles instantly by title, headline, date, or newspaper section -- one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper features by selecting your own screen appearance, search options and results format -- all covering a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers with more popular titles going back to 1980.

The Oregonian 

Oregon news from The Oregonian's website. Everything from late-breaking news to articles going back five years -- your primary news source for local news in Oregon.

Oregon Local Newspapers

Links to local newspapers throughout Oregon, from Albany's Democrat Herald to Woodburn's Independent.

GENERAL TOPICS

Gale General OneFile 

Start here for your search on general topics with this collection of over 6,500 publications with full-text articles, over 124,000 NPR audio files complete with broadcast transcripts, all the Fodor’s travel guides from 2006 and 2007, links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV and Meet the Press and over 3,000 other magazines.

Gale E-Books

Here is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Español/Spanish

¡Informe Académico!

Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Hundreds of periodicals and journals, including Latin American Research Review, NACLA Report on the Americas, La Opinión, National Geographic en Español, Epoca and many others This online collection also includs more than 15 key Latin American newspapers with detailed coverage of news, politics, current events, culture, entertainment, health, literature, science and more.

For Students & Kids

For College and College-bound Students

Gale Academic OneFile

This online resource is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, this collection is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

The one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Appropriate for college, high-school, and middle-school students, this resource draws on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVIC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

Gale  OneFile: High School Edition

Now with over 1100 titles this online collection is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Gale in Context: High School 

This online resource provides a premium selection of reference material with more than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia and includes hours of video and audio clips and podcasts.

Gale in Context: U.S. History (High School and Middle School)

More than 185,000 reference articles and over 600,000 periodical articles from magazines like Newsweek, American Heritage, and The Historian; galleries with over 73,000 images and 1,500 seals, maps, and flags; more than 9,100 view point essays and nearly 5,000 primary documents; and videos and audio from NBC, NPR and other reliable sources.

Gale Junior Edition: Middle School

Now with over 330 titles this online collection of periodicals is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government history, sports and more.

Gale Kids InfoBits (K-5)

This portal has been developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5 and covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

BUSINESS

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship

Search this online resource to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

Gale Business and Company Resource Center

This collection of online resources brings together a wide variety of global business information, enabling users to efficiently research business case studies, competitive intelligence, and career and investment opportunities. It provides company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this collection to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Gale OneFile: Business

Here is every type of information you need for truly comprehensive business research: full-text journals, investment reports, directory listings and newswire releases, as well as indexing of three national newspapers. You can tap into more of the world’s leading business, industry, management, economics, investment and company information, from a greater variety of sources than they’ll find in any competing database.

Gale OneFie: Economics and Theory

This online collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on theoretical topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.

HEALTH

U.S National Library of Medicine

The world's largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.  It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information.

Medline Plus

Provides up-to-date information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.  It is also available in Spanish.

Healthreach: Health Information in Many Languages

Find multilingual, multicultural health information and patient education materials about health conditions and wellness topics.  Learn about diseases, causes, symptoms, treatment, and prevention.  Materials maybe available as printable documents, audio, and video.

Tox Town

Provides consumer-level information on everyday locations and situations where you might be exposed to toxic chemicals.  This site will help you better understand risks of exposure, potential health effects, and how to protect yourself.

 The Pillbox  website was developed to help quickly identify medications by their appearance and ingredients as well as exploring current and past marketed products based on information such as active and inactive ingredients, DEA schedule, and manufacturers/marketers.

Gale Health and Wellness 

This online collection compiles medical reference information for all levels of health research. It includes information from nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos, over 2,200 general interest publications, and many health reference titles. It also incorporates articles on alternative topics such as herbal remedies, yoga, homeopathy, midwifery, and chiropractic. Material contained in this collection is intended for informational purposes only.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

This collection provides access to 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources. All in a single, easy-to-use online resource, this collection integrates the full-text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books.

Gale Nursing Resource Center

Designed for nursing students, this online resource brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals as they learn how to care for and treat patients. Search results are even returned in tabs that correspond to steps in the nursing process.

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health

All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Gale OneFile: Psychology

This set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. You have instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals through this online resource.

SPECIAL TOPICS

Gale OneFile: Agriculture

With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of nearly 200 titles, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media

From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Gale OneFile: Computer Science

Use this collection to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice

Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals.

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts

The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete

This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete is the perfect complement for any library that utilizes the ERIC database, because it provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. This database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty -- such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. This collection also covers issues in administration, funding and policy.

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy

Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts 

With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in this online resource (such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM), this collection will provide you with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture

Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies

This resource offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. contains maps, multimedia, case studies and other resources focusing on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. It's a one-stop resource dedicated to studying sustainability and the environment.

Gale OneFile: Home Improvement

Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.

Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism

With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.

Gale OneFile: LegalTrac

Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in this collection. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, this online resource provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. Also included are law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.

Oregon Judicial Department Family Forms

The Office of the State Court Administrator has prepared family law forms for optional use by local courts.  Divorce, legal separation, and name change forms with links for self-help and preparing for court.

Landlord and Tenant Law

When you rent a house or an apartment, you enter into a legal contract.  With this contract begins what is known as a landlord-tenant relationship.  As a landlord or a tenant, you have certain rights and responsibilities.  Know your rights.  The Oregon State Bar list links to various rental topics along with a Legal Q&A "TV" for you to view.

State of Oregon Law Library

Available to all Oregonians, the Fastcase Collection includes the United States Code, United States Supreme Court and Court  of Appeals Cases; and cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, constitutions, attorney general opinions, and session laws for Oregon, Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, and Washington.